Overview:  Accreditation is an external review process of assuring that a college or university, or a designated “program of study” at a college or university, meets or exceeds predetermined, rigorous “standards of excellence.” These standards generally cover a range of areas but especially focus on the college or university’s mission and goals, faculty qualifications, admissions criteria, educational offerings, institutional resources, and student support services.


Five Towns College has met, and continues to meet, the accreditation standards of each of the organizations listed below. The Middle States Commission on Higher Education, it is worth noting, is the only regional accrediting body authorized by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit degree-granting colleges and universities in the Middle States region, which includes Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and several locations internationally.


Middle States




National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education
2010 Massachusetts Ave NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20036
Telephone: (202) 466-7496






Association for Childhood Education International
1101 16th St., N.W., Suite 300
Washington, D.C. 20036 USA
(800) 423-3563






New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234