FTC Theatre Arts Division Wins Big @ Kennedy Center American College Theatre Region 1 Northeast Festival!

FTC Theatre Arts Division Wins Big @ Kennedy Center American College Theatre Region 1 Northeast Festival!

FTC Theatre Arts Division Wins Big @ Kennedy Center American
College Theatre Region 1 Northeast Festival!


Five Towns College Theatre Arts Division students experienced an extraordinary week! They participated in the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF), Region 1 Northeast in Connecticut. According to its website, KCACTF began in 1969 and attracts over 18,000 participants across the U. S. This is an incredible opportunity for college students and an event that FTC is proud to encourage its students to engage and attend. FTC Professors James Beneduce, Kathy Curtiss, Marie Danvers and Amy Fletcher assisted in coaching the students through the months of December and January. So much work and effort is invested prior to attending the Festival; they all should be applauded!

This conference hosts the Irene Ryan National Acting Auditions for the prestigious “Ryan” scholarships that award the top competitors in Acting, Classical Acting, Voice and Speech and the “Maltby” award for Excellence in Musical Theatre. From Pennsylvania through Maine, throughout the Northeast Region, 246 nominees competed.  Of the 246, each nominee has a partner who performed two contrasting acting scenes and either a monologue or a song from a Broadway style musical. Here were the pairs of nominees who distinguished themselves in the preliminary rounds:

Ashley Ferarro & Ryan Katon-Donnegal
Dayna John & Ian Biesinger
Amelis Escalante & Joshua Blount
Jenna Ghidalhsen & Jonathan Moret
Javan Zapata & Lauren Cocarro
Taleik Hill & Destiny Mosely
Dyan Bivings & Samantha Lim
Akeil Davis & Ashley Bermuda
Tyler Belo & Nick Morillo

Londell Collier and Dominick Pellegriini competed for the Maltby award. Jenna Cartesky, Jamilla Gordon, Rene Shubert and Michael Park also attended the Festival as participants. All students went to three days of professional workshops in acting, casting, dance, and musical theatre.  Rene Shubert was cast in the 10 minute Original play festival.

Of the 246 nominees, selected from the performances on their individual campuses, 34 nominees were advanced to the Semi-final round.  FTC students,
Ashley Ferarro and Ryan Katon-Doneagal advanced to the Semi-final round.  This is the first in the history of our College!! Ashley performed a song from
“Chess”, and scenes from “Check, Please” and “Almost Maine.” Ashley competed in the Semi-finals and advanced to the Final round where there were only 16 nominees competing.  Ashley’s work was stellar!

For the Maltby Excellence in Musical Theatre award, FTC seniors Londell Collier and Dominick Pellegrini competed.  Londell Collier was advanced
to the Final Round and performed in the Concert Hall “Prepare Ye” from Godspell and “Ten Minutes ago” from Cinderella.


While at the conference, Dr. Curtiss took the “mentor” role; also, she was a preliminary judge and presented a workshop called, “Dynamic Acting for Film.”
Film majors Ian Biesinger and Jonathan Moret, Irene Ryan scene partners, joined theatre arts majors, too.

It was quite a memorable week; a college experience that will never be forgotten! Congratulations to everyone who participated!! Way to go Theatre Arts Division!!

For more info about KCACTF, check out: http://www.kcactf.org/KCACTF.ORG_NATIONAL/KCACTF.html